Sobremesa | Summer Dinner Party

Last month I had the honor of hosting the first Sobremesa dinner party in Charlotte. Sobremesa is a global dinner concept created by the lovely minds at Sunday Suppers in New York.

I wanted to start small for my first dinner, just to make sure I was equipped with space, and it turned out to be perfect. The ladies at Sunday Suppers thought of EVERYTHING. They sent a wonderful host guide, complete with recipes, printouts of the menu, beautiful photos of what the food should look like, resources for the obscure ingredients like the squid ink, all the seasonings/spices for the recipes, and a highly enjoyable Spotify playlist for the evening’s festivities.  I felt so supported and so prepared to host, it made it so enjoyable for me.

IMG_6054

Typically at a dinner party, I revert from my extroverted tendencies and end up hiding away in the kitchen — cooking, prepping and avoiding small talk like the introvert I’m not:) There’s something about the kitchen that calls me, and it’s where I feel the MOST comfortable and at ease. The sounds of stress and the hustle of getting the meal together are my love song. Weird, I know.

My favorite part of the hosting kit was the prepping/cooking guide they provided. The attention to detail in laying out when I should start prepping and cooking the different components of the meal was absolutely incredible and so helpful. At no point was I stressed. It was probably the first large meal I’ve made without stressing out one bit, and that made it so much more enjoyable for me…from beginning to end. I could ACTUALLY sit and enjoy the meal myself.

What I loved most about this dinner is that it brought together people from all over. New faces, familiar faces from all walks of life. Dear friends and new friends, we all were lovers of food, conversation and enjoying a meal together, and that’s really what made the evening SO incredible. A communal meal shared over great conversation is what beautiful food was made for!

If you missed this one, no worries, I’m planning to host more of these dinner parties — the next Sobremesa night will be in the Fall, so stay tuned!

As for the menu, here’s what was served:

  • Frutas w/Lime & Sumac
  • Sopa de Lima (my FAV!)
  • Roasted Curried Cauliflower & Pickled Veggies w/Handmade Squid Ink Tortillas
  • Cacao Black Beans w/Queso Fresca
  • Charred Tomatillo & Jalapeno Guacamole
  • Chocolate Avocado Pudding w/Toasted Hazelnuts

Since hosting this first meal, my gears are grinding and I’ve got some great ideas for the next dinner, so stay tuned for more info as we get closer.

❤ Jess

*On another note, I’m grossly behind in posting and I think up next will be my recap of my summer week of freedom. It WAS amazing in so many ways, so I think I’m ready to put it all into words….soon:)

 

One thought on “Sobremesa | Summer Dinner Party

Leave a Reply